Seniors Laura Jensen (right) and Rachel UnruhSeniors Laura Jensen (right) and Rachel Unruh. Photo by Dwight Krehbiel

Two students presented their research at the National Conference on Undergraduate Research April 3-5 on the campus of the University of Kentucky, Lexington. Seniors Laura Jensen (right) and Rachel Unruh exhibited a poster based on their work in a Cognitive Psychology lab in spring 2013, taught by Brad Celestin ’13.

The 2014 URICA Summer Research Award winners were Angelina Adame, biology; Jessica Ebenkamp, psychology; Katelyn Melgren, social work; Karina Ortman, biology (project partially supported by a Mennonite Contributions Contest award); Kaitlin Schmidt, biology; and Seth Tarrant and Dylan Jantz, a joint project, chemistry and physics.

Allen Jantz ’84 receiving his award from Brad Born ’84. Photo by Vada Snider. Allen Jantz ’84 receiving his award from Brad Born ’84. Photo by Vada Snider.

The Ralph P. Schrag ’37 Distinguished Teaching Award, given at commencement, this year went to Allen Jantz ’84, professor of education. Students praise Allen’s ... work to ensure that they are well-equipped to step away from Bethel and step into their own classrooms, said Brad Born ’84, vice president for academic affairs, in his citation.

Bethel posted 27 NAIA All- America Scholar-Athletes for 2013-14: Jessica Ebenkamp, Katie Regier (also volleyball), Samantha Wilkerson and Brie Zerger (also soccer), basketball; Ridge Foster, Taylor Morris and Seth Tarrant, football; Ethan Rodenberg, golf; Angelina Adame, Brooke Banning, Benjamin Kreider, Paige LaFever, Jacob Weber and Madison Wiles, soccer; Sarah Cunningham and Mariah Ekart, softball; Clinton Chlumsky, Wesley Goodrich (also cross country), Logan Palenske, Alyssa Scheurman, Stephanie Shogren, Madelyn Weaver and Jesse Voth-Gaeddert, tennis; and Jason Friesen, Michelle Kaufman, Allison Rudeen and Tanner Steingard, track. KCAC Scholar-Athletes included, in addition to the above, Olivia Gehring, Laird Goertzen (also track) and Natalie Unruh, cross country; Nichole Gabriel, soccer; Tanesha Cayton and Jennifer Kaufman (also volleyball), softball; Bree Honer and Jenson Kingsley, tennis; Regina Hafner, track; and Sondra Buller and Tori Pickens, volleyball.

Logan Palenske in action. Photo by Darren DeckerLogan Palenske in action. Photo by Darren Decker.

There were at least five Bethel student-athletes on the KCAC 1st Team in their respective sports: Tommy Alexander in football, Madison Wiles in women’s soccer (Goalkeeper of the Year), Logan Palenske in men’s tennis and Bree Honer and Stephanie Shogren in women’s tennis. Named to the 2nd Team were April Harpe in women’s basketball, Stephen Scott in football, Nestor Reyes in men’s soccer, Clinton Chlumsky in men’s tennis and Allie Hipp (Sportsmanship Award) and Madelyn Weaver in women’s tennis. Honorable Mention went to Edward Davila, Garrett Garcia, Jared Kaufman and Taylor Morris in football, Taylor Sigmund in men’s soccer, Angelina Adame in women’s soccer, Kylee Gragg and Victoria Roberts in softball and Jordan Gray, Claire McStravick and Katie Regier in volleyball. (Track standings were not available at press time.)

Bethel sent five student athletes to the NAIA National Track and Field Championships, May 22-24 in Gulf Shores, Alabama: Xavier Caldwell, long jump; Jason Friesen, 400m hurdles; and Aaron Aikens, Devin Peter and Terrance Toney (with Caldwell), 4x100 relay.

John Mcabe-Jhunke '78. John Mcabe-Jhunke '78. Photo by Claire Unruh.

John McCabe-Juhnke ’78, professor of communication arts, has been awarded a Fulbright Scholar Grant that will enable him to take a full-year sabbatical in 2014-15, during which time he will spend nine months teaching at East European National University in Lensk, Ukraine.

For the third year in a row, Bethel College nursing seniors exceeded the national average pass rate for the national licensure exam. We were especially happy to achieve this result, said Director of Nursing Phyllis Miller. The National Council of State Boards of Nursing raised the standard in the past year, making it more difficult to pass the NCLEX-RN.

awardsconvo-(2) 2014 Thresher Award winners and faculty presenters. Photo by Vada Snider.

The 2014 Thresher Awards went to four seniors, from left: Audra Miller in fine arts (triple major in art, communication arts and graphic design; presented by Rachel Epp Buller ’96, assistant professor of art); Evan Koch in music (Karen Bauman Schlabaugh, professor of music); Guadalupe Gonzalez in psychology (double major in business and psychology; Paul Lewis, professor of psychology); and Carl Lehmann in biology (Francisca Méndez-Harclerode, assistant professor of biology). Faculty pictured, from left: Epp Buller, John McCabe-Juhnke ’78 (communication arts), David Long (art), Schlabaugh, Lewis, Dwight Krehbiel ’69 (psychology) and Méndez-Harclerode.